My Pain is Being a PILL!

***Fair Warning! I wrote this at 2:30 am… really hoping it makes sense!***

 

What happens when you think you took your medication, but might not have? Well, that’s a crazy question, because you’re meticulous about putting every pill in each days slot of the weekly medication holder, so why wouldn’t each pill be in each slot? Good question! One could deduce that a random fairy or gnome stopped by and noticed I had left Sunday mornings pill box open, so they decided to rummage through to find a……. ok I’m over making up stupid stuff. I messed up! Somehow I didn’t put my pain pill, my most important (well, to me) medication into the Sunday morning slot in my pill box. When did I notice this? Sunday evening when I could barely move the pain was so intense. I had chalked it up to the weather being bad, which does usually set me into flare mode, but this was different. By night I was shaky and my temp wouldn’t regulate, I knew that feeling… withdrawal. I hadn’t had my pain pill! What the holy hell! It was time (anyway) to get my pills set out for the next week, so I got started on that and took a pain pill (which I don’t usually do in the evening, but it wasn’t a “usual” kind of night). After making a 1000 percent sure every pill was in every slot, I took my evening pills and prayed that I could get to sleep at a decent hour. That was at 11 pm, it is now 2:30 am. Now, just to give you an idea how bad that is… I take multiple sleeping pills and supplements that are supposed to knock me out because of my terrible insomnia. Still awake.

People get on my case for how many prescriptions I take, but what they don’t understand is that those meds are the culmination of the research that companies have put into that which I am suffering from. Yes, there are side-effects! Yes, I take that risk upon myself when I take that drug. Yes, I would prefer to have anther viable alternative (but as of right now it is not legal in the state I live in). So, for now I will do what my doctor tells me to do and take my 15 prescription medications and 7 vitamins/supplements that I know based on research have helped some people in my situation. I will not reduce myself to snake-oil because it “cured” a bunch of people (which is a statistical impossibility). I can’t help being a realist, it’s just who I am. I look at things how they are, not how they could be. So, how things are for me… I need these medications to function on a daily basis. If I do not take them on a daily basis, I cannot function.

Like today.

One thought on “My Pain is Being a PILL!

  1. This is so true.
    Yes, my pills don’t miraculously heal me like people seem to think they should.
    but i take them, becouse honestly, without them, i couldn’t function.
    so please stop telling me i take too many pills… im just trying to survive here

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

