When exhaustion takes hold and nothing helps.

I have had an intense week. Doctor appointments, teacher conferences, more doctor appointments (for my kids), and a much needed (but draining) haircut. I even had the whole week off to take care of everything I had to do, but I still found my strength insufficient. To the point I laid down yesterday for a nap and four hours later couldn’t imagine getting back up, my stomach had other plans though. After lunch, I went back to bed and slept more. Do I feel rested today? No way. I still feel like I need to sleep all day, but I’m back at work… so no nap today.

I get so tired (pun intended) of people telling me how to deal with my fatigue. I’ve heard it all! “Get to bed earlier”, “take … supplement”, “drink … you’ll get the best sleep ever”. But it’s not that simple! Even caffeine is not a cure all, in fact it’s really bad for people with chronic pain. It’s a pain stimulant! Have you ever had a headache and took caffeine to get rid of it? That’s because you’re body is craving it and going through with drawl, so drinking it takes the pain away. But it doesn’t last. I had to ween myself off caffeine several years ago because of chronic migraines, and it really did help. I’m not here to say “Don’t drink coffee!” I’m just addressing the fact. Anyway, I’m getting off point.

I wish we still had nap time. Remember in kindergarten? We’d roll out our mats and lay down for a while, some of us would sleep, others would talk and play around. It’s truly a lost art form! Resting has become almost a joke. If an adult takes a nap, they’re labeled as lazy. When in reality, it’s so good for us! Don’t get me wrong, there are some people that can’t handle naps. If they sleep at all during the day, they can’t sleep at night. I get that. I could stay up all day long and still not sleep at night. But then take a four hour nap some other day and go to bed early that same night. I would just love it if naps were more widely accepted as a therapeutic tool.

Even still, naps aren’t the end-all-be-all answer to everything. More studies need to be done on insomnia and chronic fatigue syndrome! Sleep is such a vital part of everyday life, to go without it is debilitating. It’s why we have such a huge market for coffee and energy drinks, no one is getting enough sleep! Add to that all the people with auto-immune disorders and other invisible illnesses, there’s no end to the impact lack of sleep has on our society.

This post probably sounded like rambling and I apologize for that. I’m very tired.

One thought on “When exhaustion takes hold and nothing helps.

  1. I sooooo know how you feel and sympathize with you completely. Unless some has experienced the type of chronic fatigue we suffer they have no idea what it’s like, not even the Doctors. Take care x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

