Putting My Foot Down (is extremely painful).

*Warning- Venting Ahead*

Have you ever said “It can’t possibly get any worse than this.” then it gets worse, like way worse. That is how much pain I’m in. I seriously didn’t think it could get worse, but it can, and has.

Something is going on with my right foot. The top of my foot is in a constant state of flare. I made the image above to show the general pain area and how I feel. Just add an elephant stepping on all those knives, and we’re almost to the right pain level. Thankfully it isn’t in that state ALL the time, but it is anywhere between a 7 and 8 at any given time (10 for really bad flares). When you legitimately consider cutting your foot off, you know there is a problem.

My doctor thought it could have been a hairline fracture, so I had an x-ray… nothing. I’ve got an MRI scheduled, but I have to wait another week and a half since I got a new tattoo recently (apparently that is a big problem). So, for now, I just take very strong pain killers and hope for some relief.

I’ve also bought a “boot” to keep my foot as stable as possible. It helps, as much as anything can. I’m able to walk easier, but I’ve had to use my wheelchair more often than usual. I had to do something, I missed over a week of work and I could not afford to miss any more.

In other news- I got the results back from my genetics test and have an appointment tomorrow to go over them. Over the phone they did tell me that I definitely have the gene associated with EDS, so getting that (official) diagnosis will be a huge step forward for my treatment.

I’m also meeting with a Social Security Disability Attorney to go over my options for filing for disability. I should have done it years ago, but I was just too determined to keep working and not allow my conditions/pain to control my life. Well, I’m to the point where work is a huge trigger for my pain. I’m sure I’ll do a whole post just about the SSDI when I know more about my case.

So, that’s what’s going on in my world right now.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful, pain-free day! (((gentle hugs)))

Leave a Reply

